We Are Better Together

3 Questions: What point in this message is most impactful for you?   How does it challenge, change, or affirm your thinking? How will you put into practice what you learn today?

For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature.

So they have no excuse for not knowing God. Rom 1:20

We seek God to fill a God-sized void created by disobedience.

People are looking for relief. 

God wants us to experience a great life.

Jesus:  The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. John 10:10

The secret to a great life is to Love God and Love People.  These are the connections for a full life.

Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’38 This is the first and greatest commandment. Matt 22:37-38

A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.” 40 The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”  Matt 22:39-40

The Four Life Connections

  1. Lost to God.

Jesus explained, “I am the Way, I am the Truth, and I am the Life. No one comes next to the Father except through union with me. To know me is to know my Father too. John 14:6 TPT

Religion = Do         Jesus = Done

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. 24 Yet God, in his grace, freely makes us right in his sight. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. Rom 3:23-24

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.

Eph 2:8-9

  • Child to the Father

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5

the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! Gal 5:22-23

  • Child to child

No one has ever gazedupon the fullness of God’s splendor. But if we love one another, God makes his permanent home in us, and we make our permanent home in him, and his love is brought to its full expression in us. 1 John 4:12 TPT

  • Child to the lost

When he arrives, he will call together his friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and haven’t strayed away! Luke 15:6

Again he said, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I am sending you.” John 20:21