My daughter Brooke’s wedding and reception went off without a hitch.  Our church was overflowing with the love of friends and family for Brooke and Jonas. All were there to wish them well and encourage them on this first day of the rest of their lives together in unity as family.  Next to her mom, she was the most beautiful bride ever.  Lisa and I walked her down the Aisle and gave her away together.

I am so glad I decided not to officiate the ceremony.  Jonas’s uncle Donnie did an incredible job and it really felt good to play just the role of Brooke’s dad.  After a group prayer in which the family gathered around the bride and groom the pastor asked, “Who gives this woman to be with this man?”  In the best proud dad voice I could muster I said, “Her mother and I.”  Lisa hugged Brooke and kissed her and headed toward her chair.  I hugged and kissed her.  Then I turned to Jonas and hugged and kissed him, and put the hand of my most precious little girl into his hand to have and to hold not to be parted till life on this earth is over. 

I remember the first time I laid eyes on Brooke.  After over thirty hours of labor and an emergency c-section, the nurse rolled her into the hallway where I waited anxiously to see her.  She weighed in at an even ten pounds,  looked as alert and aware of her surroundings as she does now, and we made eye contact.  I know she smiled at me.  It was a smile that lit up the hallway and put great joy in my heart.  It was the same smile I see her give Jonas.  Up to this point, at twenty-three years old, I was too tough and immature to show my emotions.  I made eye contact with my beautiful baby girl for the first time and I burst into tears, went to my knees, and cried like a baby.  I became a dad and my life changed forever.  Better then I ever could have imagined.

I have caught myself over and over again saying how proud I am to have raised such an incredible daughter.  When we walked through the back doors of the worship center, and every one stood to honor and smile at Brooke, it was a most proud moment for me as her father.  Lisa and I have truly been blessed as parents.

It is naturally human to be proud.  I realized this morning that things could be different.  I am not going to dwell on what different could be.  Brooke is Brooke and she is a blessing by the grace of God.  Instead of being proud, I need to be careful to be blessed to be dad

Pride is being thankful to myself, and being blessed is being thankful to God.  The Bible teaches us that being prideful actually blocks God’s blessing while being humble and realizing that blessings are from God brings more blessing and a closer relationship to our Father in Heaven. (1 Peter 5:5

I have messed up a lot as Brooke’s dad, but by the grace of God, He turned her into an incredible human being.  I am sure I will use the word proud again.  Please remind me to be careful to be blessed.