Just Ask And Receive
Distorted Truth #2
http://www.lifeconnectionchurch.org

Distorted: not truly or completely representing the facts
or reality, Misrepresented, false.

Context: the parts of a written or spoken statement that precede or follow a specific word or passage, usually influencing its meaning or effect

LEAP – Listen – Engage – Apply – Produce

You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it! John 14:13-14

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. John 14:12

According to God, What are good works? His Work

How can we do greater?

1) We have the powerful witness of the resurrection

2) Followers of Jesus will have the Holy Spirit

He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. John 14:17

God will use you to do miracles. Spiritual and Physical
You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it! John 14:13-14

Jesus uses “in my name” to represent connection with God through Jesus and with the Holy Spirit.

• Welcome disciples in my name
• Manage the church in my name
• Pray in my name

We say, “Be God’s love with skin.”

How To Pray in Jesus’ Name

Be in the Jesus state of mind.

Is this prayer selfishly motivated or for glorifying God?

Am I seeking to be in God’s will or asking God to make my will His will?

Am I praying with faith in God and whatever he chooses to do or is the strength of my faith based on how he answers my prayers?

Do I pray with gratitude or do I beg or just go to God when I want something?

Do I pray for the purpose of spending time with My Heavenly Father or for religious duty?

Do I pray to be faithful, available and teachable or is it just to speak to God and not listen to Him?

When I pray have I forgiven anyone who has hurt me or is there anyone I hold a grudge against or have not forgiven?

