When I was a counselor I had a lady drive 50 miles each way to see me for depression, anxiety and marriage issues.

Why did she not see a counselor in her own town?

She was a Christian woman married to a leader in the church, and she did not want her church to know she was seeing a counselor. She was embarrassed and afraid of being judged for not having enough faith.

That is really sad. The church is supposed to be a place of grace and love. We all have emotional pain.

Jesus was so anxious before being arrested he sweated blood and he wept with grief when a friend died. The apostle Paul asked three times for God to remove a metaphoric thorn from his flesh. And Peter, out of fear said, “For the third time. I do not know Jesus”.

My name is Royal Farris and I have been a counselor and a pastor for almost 25 years. I love to help people live a better life.

Somehow, the Christian church has conveyed the message that if you have enough faith you won’t have emotional or mental issues. That’s just not true.

There is an old hymn called “It is well with my soul”.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It says that no matter what happens, no matter the test “It is well with my soul”

Christians, believing it should always be well with my soul, pull away from the church and God when they are in pain.

We tend to feel like God is their and good when all is well,
But when it’s not, where is He? Or what is wrong with me?
And where are my Christian friends?

The other problem is that Christians want to avoid their Christian friends who are in pain or not give them room to deal with their pain.

So this is an introduction to a series of videos I will be doing addressing mental, emotional, and relational issues from a Christian world view.

I will be posting them on my Youtube site, my Blog, and on the Life Connection Church FB page.

I would hope it will be a dialog about mental and spiritual health.

http://www.facebook.com/lifeconnectionchurch
http://www.royalfarris.com
http://www.lifeconnectionchurch.org

