Does Life Have A Purpose?
Explore God #1 – The Seven Big Questions

Love and purpose are two of the basic needs of every human. You were born driven to meet those needs.

As physical beings we seek unsuccessfully to have those needs met in the physical world.

So I became greater than all who had lived in Jerusalem before me, and my wisdom never failed me. 10 Anything I wanted, I would take. I denied myself no pleasure. I even found great pleasure in hard work, a reward for all my labors. 11 But as I looked at everything I had worked so hard to accomplish, it was all so meaningless—like chasing the wind. There was nothing really worthwhile anywhere. Ecc 2:9-11

We come to realize these needs cannot be met fully in the physical world.

Jesus said, The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. John 10:10

Love and purpose are actually spiritual needs that can only be fully satisfied in a relationship with our Creator

LEAP – Listen – Engage – Apply – Produce

…for through him God created everything in the heavenly realms and on earth. He made the things we can see and the things we can’t see—such as thrones, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities in the unseen world.
Everything was created through him and for him. Col 1:16

Christ is the visible image of the invisible God. He existed before anything was created and is supreme over all creation, Col 1:15
There are two kinds of people; those who say to God “Thy will be done” and those to whom God says, “All right then, have it your way.” ~ C S Lewis

Focusing on yourself will never reveal your true life’s purpose. Self focus results in purpose driven by;

• Guilt and shame
• Resentment and anger
• Materialism
• Need for approval
• Perfectionism

If you make God’s purpose your purpose;

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Eph 3:20

1. You will experience a greater meaning to life and greater success than you could imagine.

Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. Eph 5:17

2. Your life will be simplified and focused.

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Isaiah 26:3

3. You will experience supernatural motivation.

4. You will know your greatest reward awaits. The sacrifice is worth it.

Be happy about it! Be very glad! For a great reward awaits you in heaven. And remember, the ancient prophets were persecuted in the same way. Matt 5:12

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. John 14:6

Question #2 – Is There A God? – Next Week

