E - RoyalI really enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning.  Actually, when I have the time and I am working at home, I love a full pot of coffee in the morning, throughout the morning, and sometimes into the afternoon.

So I love my “Mr Coffee” 10 cup coffeemaker with a thermal carafe.  I love waking up in the morning to the sound and the smell of it brewing.

I have worn out two of them over the years.  Coming into the Christmas season my latest coffeemaker was on its last leg so when the kids asked me what I wanted for Christmas … Well you know.  I got what I asked for and  I awoke this morning to the smell and sound of coffee brewing in my one week old Mr Coffee.

I have received gifts over the years that I never did use very much.  Some … never.  Some of them I thought I wanted but found out after receiving them … not really.

You don’t get much out of a gift when you don’t use it.  The value of a gift is what you get out of it.

The greatest gift I ever received was from God.  Although, at first I didn’t realize.

And this is what God has testified: He has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 1 John 5:11

God gave us eternal life.  I received that gift, at least I thought I had, when I was in seventh grade.  It’s easy to tell I did not put much value in it because I didn’t use it.  Well, maybe I used it a little, but not like I use my coffeemaker.

I went for years barely taking my eternal life gift out of the closet.  I never really learned how to use it.  To me the value of the eternal life would come at the end of this life.  I found out later.  Boy was I wrong.

Eternal life starts now.  It’s a new life.  But you have to use it to understand it and you have to receive it to use it.

Something clicked in my Spirit when i was in my mid-twenties.  I got it, and I started using my eternal life gift every day.

I soon realized that the eternal life I thought was for after this life actually makes this life so much better.  When the eternal life gift is received and used now, your current life becomes;

  • A meaningful life
  • A valuable life
  • A loving life
  • A joyful life
  • A full life
  • A content life
  • A patient life
  • A kind life
  • A faithful life
  • A life of self-control
  • A guilt free life

The more I use my eternal life gift, the more valuable it becomes to me.

And it never gets old and worn out.  The more you use it, the better it gets.

How about you?  Have you received the gift?  Do you keep it in the closet most the time or do you use it every day?

We just started a new year.  What a great day it is to start a new life.

