http://www.lifeconnectionchurch.org
“Don’t be afraid!” he said. “I bring you good news that will bring great joy to all people. 11 The Savior—yes, the Messiah, the Lord—has been born today in Bethlehem, the city of David!
Luke 2:10-11

Joy is a condition of the heart that is the result of accepting Christ as Savior, relying on the leading of the Holy Spirit, trusting God in all situations.

I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.
Rom 15:3

Ten Ways to Lose Your Joy?

1. Believe I can earn God’s favor.
2. Believe life should be fair…
3. Believe I can’t change.
4. Believe “If I just had _____” I would be happy.
5. Believe there are reasons for not forgiving.
6. Believe if I pray hard enough “it” will happen.
7. Believe if I just have enough faith “it” will happen
8. Believe people should love me unconditionally.
9. Believe another person should make me happy.
10. Believe I am in control.

Bonus: Believe it’s all about me.

How To Be Joy-Full

1. Be brand new in Christ.

Yes, Adam’s one sin brings condemnation for everyone, but Christ’s one act of righteousness brings a right relationship with God and new life for everyone. 19 Because one person disobeyed God, many became sinners. But because one other person obeyed God, many will be made righteous. Rom 5:18-19

2. Stay close to Christ. (Abide)
Spiritually, Mentally, Physically

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing. 6 Anyone who does not remain in me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers. Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. John 15:4-6

3. Mature in faith and wisdom through obedience.

The seeds on the rocky soil represent those who hear the message and receive it with joy. But since they don’t have deep roots, they believe for a while, then they fall away when they face temptation. Luke 8:13

When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow! 12 This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. John 15:10-12
4. Finish … Finish … Finish well

Dear brothers and sisters,[a] when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. James 1:2-4

Royal Farris at LIfe Connection Chruch

