E - RoyalI am a people watcher, and when I can I like to practice Acts of Kindness.  It’s a great way to be God’s love with skin.

As usual, the line for lunch at Chick-Fill-A yesterday was very long.  At the drive thru cars were lined up around the building and into the street.  Inside there were so many people it was hard to tell who had ordered and who was waiting for their order to be filled.

One lady was there before me and another guy who walked into the restaurant at the same time.  I saw her waiting there patiently and I noticed she looked a little distracted.  A spot at the counter opened up.  It was clearly her turn, but she did not notice the opening as quick as the guy who had entered with me.  She started to step forward, noticed he was heading for the counter, and she kindly stepped back, smiled, and let him go first.

I realized she deserved and act of kindness.  I only had a $10.00 bill so I ordered just a sandwich with no drink and hoped she was just ordering for herself.  Sure enough she ordered a sandwich and a drink.  I had enough so I stepped over and told Mary, the lady behind the counter, I was buying the lady’s lunch and gave her the cash.  (I would have pulled out the credit card if I had to because I had already made the commitment.)

So … It really was no more than a small act of kindness, but the result was a huge smile from the lady receiving the act.

She asked why I was doing that.  I told her I saw her let that man cut in line so I thought she deserved an act of kindness.

She thanked me and said, “You really made my day.

It doesn’t take a whole lot of kindness to make someone’s day.

And it feels so good to know you did.

How about you?  When was the last time you just did a random act of kindness?  Try it and let me know how it goes.

Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Col 3:12

