Series: Emotions That Hold Back The Love #4

Inspired by: Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley

Guilt – I owe you

Anger – You Owe me

Greed – I owe me.

Greed disguises itself as saving, planning, and security.

But I am not surprised! Even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. 2 Cor 11:14

Greed isn’t a financial issue, it is a heart issue.  Financial gain does not make greedy people less greedy.

Then he said, “Beware! Guard against every kind of greed. Life is not measured by how much you own.” Luke 12:15

The driving force behind greed is fear.

Fear that God can’t or won’t take care of you.

Jesus’ Definition of Greed; A person who stores up things for himself but isn’t rich toward God.

Greed is always looking for something good to hide behind.

 We Are Managers Not Owners

 16 Then he told them a story: “A rich man had a fertile farm that produced fine crops.17 He said to himself, ‘What should I do? I don’t have room for all my crops.’ 18 Then he said, ‘I know! I’ll tear down my barns and build bigger ones. Then I’ll have room enough to store all my wheat and other goods. 19 And I’ll sit back and say to myself, “My friend, you have enough stored away for years to come. Now take it easy! Eat, drink, and be merry!”’ Luke 12:16-19

Do I;

  • Secure the future of my children?
  • Save it so I don’t worry about my future?
  • Raise my standard of living?

 

20 “But God said to him, ‘You fool! You will die this very night. Then who will get everything you worked for?’ 21 “Yes, a person is a fool to store up earthly wealth but not have a rich relationship with God.”  Luke 12:20-21

The landowner overlooked the God factor in his fortune and the God-factor in how many years he has left.

 Develop a Generous Life

 Basic Level Giving:  Return an initial gift to God in a way that is identifiable and accountable.  Commit to a percentage to give first.

Obedience Level Giving:  Return the full tithe to God.

Peak Level Giving:  become a generous giver

  • Willingness to stretch yourself.
  • Desire to be generous with others.
  • A decision to use all you have to honor God.
