E - RoyalDear Friends and Family of LCC,

I remember when church was a chore for me.  I was not really committed.  It wasn’t like I didn’t get anything out of it.  I was always glad I went, but between Sundays something would happen to make me forget the good experience. I would get distracted during the week and other things would become more important on Sunday, you know, like sleeping in or going to the lake.

Weeks later, I would go back, have a good God experience, and then get distracted again for several weeks or longer.  Then I would remember it was good, feel guilty, or be forced to go by my wife.

It all changed when my daughter Brooke was born.  I made a commitment.  I was going to go to church for Brooke.  It changed my life.  I needed to do something different, better, because I needed to grow up and be a dad.  I committed to church for Brooke.  I was in.  The commitment changed my life, because after the committing and sticking to it, God changed my life.  I can’t explain it.  It was a heart change.  Now I was committed to Jesus.  I was no longer going just because I was committed, or for Brooke, or even for me.  I went because God was maturing me spiritually and I could not wait for my Sunday morning pep-rally.

I can probably count on one hand the Sundays I have missed in 28 years.  Since becoming a pastor in 1998, I have never missed a Sunday sick.

Committing to God and to church will change your life like nothing else.  It changes you from the inside out.  It’s not like being committed to exercise, or a diet, or a hobby.  The commitment is important.  It can’t be about feelings.  It has to be about choice.  This is not a Royal thing.  It’s not a religious thing.  It is truth and love that comes straight from the Word of God.

In order to reach your greatest potential spiritually, you have to be a participating member of a “body of Christ”.  That’s a church.

Check this out ….  Ephesians 4:12-14 .. “Their responsibility (Pastors) is to equip God’s people to do his work and build up the church, the body of Christ.  This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ Then we will no longer be immature like children.”

This is part of what I am teaching Sunday.  It is part four of “There Are Two i’s In TEAM”.  Unity Makes Maturity.

I talk to people every week who are like I used to be.  That can’t figure out why they are not maturing spiritually … You need the church to mature. It’s part of the plan.  We will be looking at what that looks lie on Sunday.

So … I hope to see you Sunday.  Bring a friend.

And between now and then.  Make a commitment.  Start off with just six weeks.  Don’t miss.  Go for it all out.  I will change your life.

God Bless

Royal

