E - RoyalNobody likes rejection.  It is a basic need and want of people to have the approval of other people.  I have counseled many who struggle with low self-esteem, depression, anxiety, failed relationships, keeping jobs and other social problems, and they can relate it back to not ever feeling they earned the approval of those who should have loved them.

I am an admitted people pleaser, and although I am healthier, in that respect, than I was in my younger years, it still bothers me to feel rejected or not approved by others.

Some of us seem to be better at handling rejection than others.  Some are thicker skinned and just ignore it and go through life not caring if people like them or not.

There is a healthy way of dealing with rejection.  It’s knowing that your value comes from God.  It’s understanding  God’s love for you, and  that your value comes from knowing that He created you the way you are and loves you sacrificially.

We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. 1 John 3:16

There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. John 15:13

Most of us hate rejection?  Or do we?

Do we hate rejection or do we just hate “being rejected”?

Rejection feels like disrespect, lack of being appreciated.

I have found that people who fear being rejected the most, don’t mind, or even enjoy rejecting others.  There are many who feel better about themselves when they can make others feel worse.

Do you fear rejection?  Are you looking for the approval of others?  You don’t have to.  Just realize you have an audience of ONE.  

I guess the biggest danger in working to please people is that pleasing people can become more important than serving Christ.  (Gal 1:10)  Then the anxiety you have about being rejected is magnified because you are rejecting God.

You don’t have to hate being rejected, and you won’t need to reject others if you live your life knowing you are loved by God.  That is all the approval one needs.

Prayer:  Father in Heaven, please remind me of how much you love me as I interact with others today.  Thank you for not rejecting me.  Help me to encourage and build up others, even those who reject me.

 

