Logo_ontransparent convertedRomans 6:8-14 

Psychology:  You are what you think.  You behave according to what you believe.

 Stress follows believing but not behaving.

 21 I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. 22 I love God’s law with all my heart. 23 But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. 24 Oh, what a miserable person I am!   Rom 7:21-24

 Problem:  Disobedience results in darkness and confusion. (Depression and anxiety)

 Yes, they knew God, but they wouldn’t worship him as God or even give him thanks. And they began to think up foolish ideas of what God was like. As a result, their minds became dark and confused. Rom 1:21

 Spiritual death comes when you live in the dark.

 So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace. Rom 8:6

 LET GOD CHANGE YOUR MIND

 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Rom 12:2

 

Constantly Remind Yourself Who You Are

 1)   Christ rescued me from my old dead self.

Sin … Satan .. has no power over me.

 And since we died with Christ, we know we will also live with him. We are sure of this because Christ was raised from the dead, and he will never die again. Death no longer has any power over him. 10 When he died, he died once to break the power of sin. But now that he lives, he lives for the glory of God. 11 So you also should consider yourselves to be dead to the power of sin and alive to God through Christ Jesus.

 2)    My power source is Christ.  Choose to turn it on.

 3)    When tempted I will turn away and toward Christ.

 12 Do not let sin control the way you live;do not give in to sinful desires. 13 Do not let any part of your body become an instrument of evil to serve sin. Instead, give yourselves completely to God, for you were dead, but now you have new life. So use your whole body as an instrument to do what is right for the glory of God.  

Control mind, eyes, ears, mouth, location, relationships

 4)    The devil cannot make me do it.

 5)    Everything about me and I possess belongs to God. (Holy)

 14 Sin is no longer your master, for you no longer live under the requirements of the law. Instead, you live under the freedom of God’s grace.

 6)    When I mess up, I am forgiven .   Confess, Repent, Thank God

 

