Logo_ontransparent converted

If saved by grace then why obey?

Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”   Matt 22:37-40

The foundation of all true working faith is relational.

The why to obedience is love God love people.

For the commandments say, “You must not commit adultery. You must not murder. You must not steal. You must not covet.” These—and other such commandments—are summed up in this one commandment: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Rom 13:9

Five Ways to Relate to God

1)     Live according to your own will. (Lone Ranger)

(Problem: You will do what is natural)

Jesus said… “apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5b

2)     Let God do all the work.

3)    Go to God for emergencies.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Phil 4:6-7

4)    Pick and choose God’s involvement.

5)    Live in Christ and Christ in you.  Abide

 “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.  But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted! When you produce much fruit, you are my true disciples. This brings great glory to my Father. John 15: 5,7,8

Make your people relationships strong by making your relationship with God strong.

Practice the presence of God all day long.

This takes much practice because it does not come naturally.

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.  Psalm 42:1 NIV

Does our mind spontaneously return to God when not intensely occupied, as the needle of a compass turns to the North Pole when removed from nearer magnetic forces? ~ Dallas Willard

a)     Start with prayer and meditation in the morning.

My heart says of you, “Seek his face!”  Your face, Lord, I will seek.  Psalm 27:8

b)    Practice God’s presence throughout the day.

c)    Be thankful, pray for others, confess and repent.

d)    Focus on the God at bedtime. (last thing)

