I prayed to the Lord, and he answered me.  He freed me from all my fears.  Ps 34:4 NLT

Fearing people is a dangerous trap, but trusting the Lord means safety. Prov 29:25

Dangers of Needing the Approval of People

1)    Controlled by others or feel a need to control others.

2)    Anger

3)    Codependency

4)    Hypersensitive to opinions of others.

5)    Insensitive to others.

6)    Depression reinforced by negative self-talk.

7)  Leads to a negative witness for Christ.

Making Peace with Not Needing People Approval

______ does not need the approval of others to be happy.

1)    Make God the object of your affection.

The Lord is my light and my salvation—so why should I be afraid?  Ps 27:1 NLT

Help me abandon my shameful ways; for your regulations are good.  40 I long to obey your commandments!  Renew my life with your goodness. Ps 119:39-40

Work hard so you can present yourself to God and receive his approval. Be a good worker, one who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly explains the word of truth.2 Tim 2:15 NLT

 2)    Stop making people God

 What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? Rom 8:31

 Yet you have forgotten the Lord, your Creator, the one who stretched out the sky like a canopy and laid the foundations of the earth.  Will you remain in constant dread of human oppressors? Isa 51:13 NLT

 Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant. . Gal 1:10NLT

 3)     Live and Know you are the object of God’s love.

 God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure. Eph 1:5NLT

 Even if my father and mother abandon me, the Lord will hold me close.  Ps 27:10 NLT

 He made peace with everything in heaven and on earth by means of Christ’s blood on the cross. 21 This includes you who were once far away from God. You were his enemies, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions. 22 Yet now he has reconciled you to himself through the death of Christ in his physical body. As a result, he has brought you into his own presence, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault.  Col 1:20-22

