If you want your day to be more fun, practice being friendly.  That’s what I did all day on election day.  I arrived at the church at 5:45am to let the election officials in at 6:00am.  I helped them set up and I unlocked the door to meet the first voter with a handshake and a smile. He gave me a handshake and a smile back.  I was hooked

It was such a beautiful day, and I stayed on the porch until the polls closed at 7:00pm and managed to shake hands with, smile at, congratulate first time voters, and encourage around 700 people in one day. 

Many people said, “I didn’t know there was a church here, tell me about your church.  What time are your services?”  I shared the Good News of Jesus Christ with a couple of people, heard sad stories from and was able to encourage several others and celebrated with quite a few first time voters.  They were happy for me to use their phones to take pictures of them in front of the “vote here” sign.

It is amazing the positive way people respond when you are kind and encouraging.  The energy on the front porch of LCC was amazing all day long. 

 Worry weighs a person down; an encouraging word cheers a person up. Prov 12:25

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. Eph 4:29

And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another… Heb 10:25

What if your assignment was to be friendly all day?  No matter where you go or what you do, be friendly and kind.  I think I can promise you that most of your days would be much better.  You would make the day of those to whom you are kind better, and your days would be full of positive energy.

Why don’t you give it a try tomorrow?  Let me know how it goes. 

