I really don’t like being late for a meeting.  It is unprofessional and it shows a lack of respect for the person or people with whom you are meeting.  Their time is valuable.  So if it is at all possible, I will not be late, and I will shoot for early. 

Unfortunately, with all the road construction going on around our area it takes a little longer to get anywhere.  So sometimes I drive a little over the speed limit.  When Lisa is with me she will say, “If you think you are going to be late, getting a speeding ticket is not going to get you there any faster.”   She is right most of the time.

So, a couple of days ago I leave the house a little later than I wanted to.  I am on my motorcycle, enjoying the breeze and the great weather and as I come around the curve, there he is.  I was going a little faster than the law allows

Does your heart skip a beat and then speed up when you see a nice motorcycle police officer pointing a radar gun at you?  Yep … Right at me.

I immediately stiffened up so bad I almost dropped the bike, in a cool way, and managed a quick stiff wave of my hand and a nod of my head.  He pointed at me with his free hand …. and then let me go on by. 

I watched him through my rearview mirror long enough to know he wasn’t following me  … He let me go.  I was speeding, he caught me, and he let me go. 

We claim that life is not fair when bad things happen.  But if life was fair, we would all get caught speeding and we would all pay the consequences.  Why?  Because we deserve to pay.  We broke the law.

This police officer gave me grace.  I deserved to be stopped, given a ticket and to be, as Lisa reminds me, later to my meeting. 

Grace …. a free gift that is undeserved and unearned … I am so thankful for undeserved grace.

The greatest grace offered to mankind comes from God

The apostle Paul wrote:  And since it is through God’s kindness, then it is not by their good works. For in that case, God’s grace would not be what it really is—free and undeserved.  Rom 11:6

Why do we need grace?  We mess up all the time.  We are born to mess up.  Messing up has been handed down through our family since the first mom and dad.

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Rom 3:23

And since we all fall short of God’s standard, we fall short of being righteous enough to be with a most righteous God.  Sin may be fun sometimes, like riding a motorcycle a little faster than the law allows.  But without grace there are great consequences for sin.  All sin.  Or just one sin.

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord. Rom 6:23

The Bible tells us that we cannot earn our way to being sinless.  Our sins need to be paid for.  We can’t do it.  So God steps in with His gift of grace to take care of the problem.

But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. Rom 5:8

I am thankful for any undeserved grace given to me by anyone.  But I will be forever grateful for the gift of grace God gave me through the sacrifice He made through His Son Jesus that saved me from my own sin.  He saved me from my past sins, sins I am doing today, and from my sins in the future until I get to heaven where there will be no more sin.

He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. Eph 1:7

Mr. Motorcycle Police Officer,  in all fairness, I deserved a ticket.  Thanks for the grace.

To my Heavenly Father God and to Jesus Christ …. Thanks for the tremendous sacrifice you paid because you loved me so much you wanted me in your presence throughout eternity. 

Thank you God for the gift of  Epic, Heavenly, Divine, Underserved Grace that is so difficult for my human mind to understand.

Question:  Do you like receiving grace?  Have you accepted God’s grace through Jesus Christ?

