Sometimes, when I am riding my motorcycle, it’s a pretty day, and the wind is blowing coolly in my face, I cant help but to just smile.  I mean I smile huge.  People who see me on the road must think I am on drugs or up to something.  ( I do swerve back and forth for fun)

I smile.  I can’t help it.  In my head I am thinking, “This is so great.  This is so good.  This is so awesome.  Thank you God so much.”  And I keep smiling.

I know it’s a little thing, but it’s powerful.  It can completely change my attitude for the good.  As I think about the joy it gives me, other things that seemed big or maybe even troublesome don’t seem so big anymore.

Last night, I went to dinner with my wife and kids for my birthday … I just smiled as I looked at the blessings around the table and the Prime Rib blessing in front of me.

If you look long and hard at something it begins to dominate your mind and it gets huge.  When you worry, the negative energy takes over your mind, tenses up your body, and leads to depression and physical ailments.

So it is important that we focus more on things that give us positive energy.

Christians are quick to say, “I am blessed.”   Because that is what Christians think they are supposed to say.

Well, guess what?  You are.  So stop telling others you are and not meaning it and tell yourself you are and mean it.

Then focus on the blessings.  It will rejuvenate the mind and spirit and make it easier to deal with the problems or blow off the things you are worried about altogether.

OK ….. You need a list …. What are some blessings you have that give you joy?

  • Kids
  • Friends
  • Hobby
  • Flowers
  • Rain
  • Sun
  • Puppies
  • Your relationship with God
  • Your Sunday morning Worship
  • Walking in the park
  • The fact that your back used to hurt and it does not any more
  • Something funny
  • Working in the yard (this one definitely does not work for me, but my  wife loves it)
  • Friends that used to give you joy that you need to reconnect with
  • Books you love to read …
  • Movies you love to watch over and over again (Go find the DVD and watch it tonight)

If you have not thought about your blessings lately you may need to pray about it.  Ask God to point them out.  Ask your spouse or kids to point out the blessings in your life. 

Pray about it and work on your list…..

Now seriously for a minute …. You may be depressed and it is suffocating you.  You are in the dark so much you can not see or remember that something made you feel good or was a blessing.  If this is the case with you,  GET HELP

If you are not sure, ask someone close to you.  “Do you think I am depressed?”   Sometimes you have been depressed long enough you don’t even know you are.  Your friend or spouse will know.  Ask …

If you want a second opinion, get one.  But if those around you think you are depressed … Do something about it….

 IT DOES NOT TAKE A VACATION TO GET YOUR JOY BACK.  It takes reminding that you have so much for which to be thankful.

 When they saw the star, they were filled with joy!  Matt 2:10

Question:  Have you got a blessing list?  Start one now.  What is on your list?

