What I love most about my job, I am a pastor, is teaching the Bible, The Word of God, The Holy Scriptures.

As a counselor I learned that if I taught Biblical principles and values, and if my clients would obey God’s truths and apply them to their lives, lives would change. Marriages and bad relationships could be fixed, anxiety could be calmed, depression could be lightened and healed, parents could become better parents and life overall could be much improved. Even people who were not Christians came to me for counseling because their friends told them that what I counseled worked. But the Christian, who believed and was led by the Holy Spirit could see miraculous changes in attitude, emotions and lifestyle.

The key is to hear, believe, and to obey. Miraculous life change can occur if one hears, believes, and obeys.

I love being the messenger. I get emotional as I sit here and think that as Christians we are given the privilege and responsibility of taking the life changing truth to those who need to know. I have committed my life to that calling and to teaching and shepherding others toward being fully devoted followers of Christ.

When I teach the Word of God I am both nervous and excited. I prepare and pray to hear God through His Word and His Spirit and pass it on to others. It is important that if you have information that can change and save another person’s life, you pass it on.

This Sunday I will begin an incredible adventure as I begin to teach our church, Life Connection Church, through what has been called the greatest letter ever written, the letter from the Apostle Paul to the Christian citizens of Rome.

Paul wrote: For “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” 14 But how can they call on him to save them unless they believe in him? And how can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear about him unless someone tells them? 15 And how will anyone go and tell them without being sent? That is why the Scriptures say, “How beautiful are the feet of messengers who bring good news!” Rom 10:13-15

The Apostle begins his letter with; This letter is from Paul, a slave of Christ Jesus, chosen by God to be an apostle and sent out to preach his Good News. 2 God promised this Good News long ago through his prophets in the holy Scriptures. 3 The Good News is about his Son. Romans 1:1-3

Samuel Coleridge, an English poet, Romantic, literary critic and philosopher wrote “I think that the Epistle to the Romans is the most profound work in existence”

John Knox was a Scottish clergyman and a leader of the Protestant Reformation who brought reformation to the church in Scotland said that it is “unquestionably the most important theological work ever written”

Paul wrote this letter to Christians in Rome who were under great persecution for their faith. It is the Gospel of Jesus, plain and simple, although deep and intense, in a twenty-two page 1700 word letter. For centuries Romans has inspired men like St. Augustine, Martin Luther, and John Wesley to become great men of God and change history.

I begin this exciting journey through this love letter from God on Sunday. If you are part of the LCC family I hope to see you there ready to hear. If you do not have a church family, please join us.

I look forward to lives being changed. As always when studying and teaching the Holy Scriptures, we will all have an opportunity to listen, obey, and take steps closer to God and the likeness of Jesus Christ.

