The first day of class, when I taught freshman Psyc at Northlake Community College and at Dallas Baptist University, I would tell my students; “If you are not a good student it’s probably not because you are not smart.  Most likely it’s because you are not motivated.”

I was a terrible student all the way through high school.  I never failed a grade, but I typically just got by.  I didn’t hate school.  I always loved the social interaction with other students and my teachers, but I did not like schoolwork.  I was a poor student.  Many mornings I would wake up with a nervous stomach because I had not done the work and I knew I was not going to get a good grade.   I really believed I was not smart enough to be a good student.

In my mid twenties I committed my life to following Christ and God changed me.  One of the things he changed about me that I have always loved the most, is He made me a learner

As I studied the Bible and learned more and more about God and how to live my life for Him, he gave me a passion for learning.  God gave me a hunger to learn about this world, about people and to have a working knowledge of applying my faith in all areas of life. 

I went back to college.  I was an “A” student all the way through my undergraduate and graduate studies.  I developed a love for reading books.  (I got out of high school reading Cliff Notes)

Intelligent people are always ready to learn.  Their ears are open for knowledge.  Prov 18:14-16

Life became much more interesting when I became a learner.  I became more confident in my faith, and in myself.

I still don’t do math, but I love talking to and learning from people who do.  I love feeling like I can sit down and talk to anyone, no matter what their interest or background, about their life and how faith in God through Jesus Christ will work in their lives no matter who they are or where they have been.

I still don’t think I am very smart, but I know God is.  It’s important that, as a Christian,  the foundation from which you build your knowledge is God’s Word, the Bible.

Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ.  Col 2:8

And I know this …. Every moment I am awake is an opportunity to learn something from the God of the Universe about His universe and the people in it.

Question:  I became a learner when I became a true follower of Christ?  Did you experience something similar?  What was the biggest change in your life when you became a Christ-follower?

