Leaders read. Be a reader.

What do I read? Whatever catches my eye and peaks my interest. I have some places I go online often, some places daily. I just like to learn.

Here are some posts I read this week that I found interesting. Have you read something online this week you would like to share.

Just because I find something interesting does not mean I agree with the author.

1) Hate Small Talk? These Five Questions Will Help You Work Any Room … Fastcompany.com

“Mastering small talk will help you find common ground to create a mini-bond with new contacts. Small talk may feel trite and unimportant, but it’s the small talk that leads to the big talk.”

2) Twitter 5 Years Later .. 5 Reasons I’m Still a Big Fan … ThomRanier.com

“Obviously people use Twitter for a variety of reasons. And obviously the motives of the users are mixed. I can say with clarity and conviction, though, its value in five areas for me is immeasurable.”

3) Why Does God Allow Tragedy and Suffering? Lee Strobel at Bible Gateway Blog

“That “why” question goes back thousands of years. It was asked in the Old Testament by Job and the writers of the Psalms, and it was especially relevant during the 20th century, where we witnessed two World Wars, the Holocaust, genocides in the Soviet Union and China, devastating famines in Africa, the killing fields of Cambodia, the emergence of AIDS, the genocide in Rwanda and the ethnic cleansing of Kosovo. And the 21st Century didn’t start any better. There was 9/11 and now the Syrian slaughters, and on and on. Why all of this if there’s a loving and powerful God? Why do bad things happen to good people?”

4) Why Frequent Trips Outside Your Comfort Zone Are So Important .. MichaelHyatt.com

You’ve probably experienced something similar. Maybe it was learning a new skill, meeting a new person, or taking on a challenge you’d never done. We don’t often enjoy these things when they are happening, but, looking back, we have to admit:

  • This is where the growth happens.
  • This is where the solutions are.
  • This is where fulfillment resides.

5) Tony Morgan posted highlights from The Global Leadership Summit at Willow Creek. I wish I was there and thanks Tony for posting.

;

