This is part 3  – I tried to look at this from a distance, although I am a Christian Pastor.  I am also a counselor who has heard plenty from both sides.  Be patient as I process through the thoughts I had of the day and what surrounded it.  I will try to answer comments or questions.   Some answers I won’t know.  Please be civil.  This is not a fun post.  It’s just eating me up as I feel there is such a misunderstanding about the differences from both sides.  Different does not mean hate.   This is not about Chick-Fil-A or homosexuality.  It is about a conversation of respect between people with different beliefs.  I will read but filter out personal attack. 

I was not going to post today.  I am on my way back to a Christian Men’s conference, but what I experienced at this conference reminded me of something else I saw in processing the CFA day.

As I wrote in my last post, “Feel free to slam me when I am a hypocrite.  I deserve that.”  Although, I would hope that you would realize that we (Christians) are not always perfect.  We don’t claim to be, although I know there are some of us who at our worse, seem to be thinking we are perfect.

I wish you could see us more times at our best.  When we are at our best is when you see us at our least, and God at His most.  (John 3:30)  Our Bible tells us that when we are at our best is when we represent God most.  It’s when you will actually see God through us.

No one has ever seen God. But if we love each other, God lives in us, and his love is brought to full expression in us. 1 John 4:12

When we love each other.  I like to say we become God’s love with skin.  That’s when we are being who we are supposed to be.  And that’s when the world sees God’s character in His children.

The Bible tells us that when we are at our best, love is most noticeably present in us.  The Bible also tells us what real love is.  It comes to us from God.

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. 1 Cor 13:4-7

This is the kind of love that God gives.  This is the kind of love we are to pass on to others.  This is when we are at our best.  Notice it’s not a passive love.  It is a strong love that includes the element of Truth.

I heard this was going on at the CFA restaurants all across the country on the CFA appreciation day.  I saw post after post of people saying how polite, friendly, unselfish and joyous people were even though they were standing in line for sometimes over an hour for chicken.

Real love is contagious.  I know everyone did not have this love attitude.  But I heard over and over and over again that it was such a different feel.  It was in the air.

I am out of time.  Thanks for reading.  I will post a part 4 on Monday.

My goal is a respectful conversation.  Your rational and civil comments will be appreciated and I will answer questions the best way I know how.

