I don’t like Christian T-Shirts, and I don’t think Christians should wear them.  I mean, that is, not in public.

First of all, most of them are pretty cheesy.  It’s bad enough that other Christians think your T-Shirt is cheesy, but its worse when people who are not Christians think so.

See, you only get one shot at a first impression.  As a Christian, the impression you make on a non-Christian is important.  A cheesy t-shirt impression is a big hurdle to overcome.

You say, “Hey I want people to know I am a Christian.  If they don’t like my shirt or the message on my shirt then that’s too bad.”

You’re right.  It is too bad, but it’s not too bad for the reason you think.  It’s too bad because you are supposed to be making a good impression.  God wants you to make an impression.  God wants you to make a positive impression, a respectful impression.

As Christians we are supposed represent Christ and present ourselves in a way that people respect us enough that they want to know about our faith.

The Apostle Peter wrote:  “you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it.  But do this in a gentle and respectful way. Keep your conscience clear. Then if people speak against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.”  1 Pet 3:15-16

Secondly, not all Christian Tees are cheesy, but all Christian T-shirts tell people you are a Christian before you have a chance to make a positive first impression.  Some people, and that group is getting larger all the time, do not think very positively about Christians.  If you meet someone who does not like Christians, you may not get a chance to be a good representative for Christ.

As Christians, we are on duty 24/7 as witnesses for Christ.  We should always put our best foot forward.  We should care what others think of us.  They should be impressed.  They should be impressed with our integrity, our kindness, our respectful attitudes, our level of compassion, our humility, our trustworthiness, our love for others, our understanding of our differences, our self-control, our gratefulness, our patience and our joy.

I have a couple of old Christian Tees that I only wear at home.  Forgetting I had one of them on, I ran to the store today.  As I got out of the car and saw my reflection in the window, I saw the cheesy shirt.  I thought, uh oh.  I am going to be extra friendly.

I went in and ordered my coffee.  I tried to keep my arms folded over the front of my shirt, and I prayed for a chance to be God’s love with skin, to be a good representative of Christ.

And I prayed my barista liked Christians and would not spit in my cup.

Question:  If you are a Christian, how often do you think about representing Christ in public?

If you are not a Christian, what do you think about Christian T-Shirts?

