When my son Nick (now age 27) was in Junior High (1999), he and I went to a Promise Keepers Men Conference in San Antonio.  It was a fun trip, on a bus, with a bunch of guys to a men’s only event in a big stadium.  It was a great experience for Nick and me to have together.  You know, it was a guys thing and a Christian thing at the same time.  Instead of cheering for a football team we were cheering for Jesus and for men to live their lives like Jesus.

I think what I like about Promise Keeper Conferences the most is the way they call Christian men out and challenge us to be,  who we are supposed to be.   The theme for that year’s conference was “Choose This Day” and it was based on Joshua 24:15

 But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

We had some great teachers who spent the weekend calling us out, as men, to choose to serve the Lord in every part of our lives.  The first session of the conference is always a strong presentation of the Gospel and Nick and I got to see a couple of men we knew commit their lives to Christ.

One of the teachers taught on being Christian husbands and dads, and Nick was listening.

On the bus ride home Nick brought up one of the challenges the speaker had made to husbands.  

Nick said, “Dad, that guy said that husbands ought to help their wives out more around the house.  He said husbands should pick a task their wives do that they don’t like and own it.”

I said, “Yes.”

Nick said, “Well which one of mom’s chores are you going to start doing?”

If you really want to get something out of a men’s conference, take your teenage son.  I told him I didn’t know but I would get with mom and take care of it.

Both of our kids liked taking their lunch to school.  Lisa did not like getting up and making the lunches every morning.  So I took on that task.  It ended up being a bigger blessing for me than it was for Lisa.  

I liked making the kids lunch.  It was an extra connection I had with them all the way through high school.  I would sometimes put notes of encouragement in their lunch bags.  I learned that from another dad.  I did such a good job making their lunches that every once in a while one of their friends would ask if I could make a lunch for him.  One mom stopped me at a sporting event and said she had started making her daughter’s lunch because  she liked Nick’s lunches.  I had made her one.

I am going with a group of men from our church, Life Connection Church, to a Promise Keepers Conference next weekend in Garland, Texas. (August 3-4)  

I am going with an attitude.  I am going to be called out…  And I am looking forward to the challenge.

If you are a man you should go to a Promise Keepers Conference.  It’s a great spiritual and manly experience.  If you have a son, take him and be ready to be held accountable.

Information About Promise Keepers

