I don’t know if it’s our American culture or what, but I have talked to many people over the years that seem to be confused about humility.  The American way is all about being proud.  Most of us know when we are around a prideful person, and we don’t like it. 

It’s hard to be friends  with a proud person.

It’s impossible to be close to God when you are proud.

Though the Lord is great, he cares for the humble, but he keeps his distance from the proud. Psalm 138:6 and others ….

Humble does not mean to be a door mat.  It doesn’t mean you are ashamed to be you.  It does not mean you lack confidence.  You get your confident humility by placing your confidence in trusting the Lord your God.

So you ask …. How does a humble person behave?  I am glad you asked. 

Mark Altrogge at The Blazing Center Blog gives us a list   “7 Ways to Put on Humility

1. Listen to others.
2. Be teachable.
3. Don’t blame others for your sins.
4. Don’t be so sure you’re right all the time.
5. Take an interest in others.
6. Ask for forgiveness; don’t just say I’m sorry.
7. Ask for prayer for areas of weakness and temptation.

This is a good list ….  You can add to it by staying out of a prideful attitude and developing a humble one.

If I must boast, I would rather boast about the things that show how weak I am. 31 God, the Father of our Lord Jesus, who is worthy of eternal praise, knows I am not lying.  2 Cor 11:30-31

Question:  What are some other ways you can Put on Humility?

