How to Develop Spiritual Confidence

 Many Christians are discouraged and lack confidence in their faith.

 There was a man named Jabez who was more honorable than any of his brothers. His mother named him Jabez because his birth had been so painful. 10 He was the one who prayed to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain!” And God granted him his request.  1 Chron 4:9-10

 

 1)     Be honorable … Be a Christian all the time.

 2)     Don’t set your personal worth according to the standards of the world.

 His mother named him Jabez because his birth had been so painful.

 He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. Eph 1:7

 3)    Think bigger than you

 10 He was the one who prayed to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory!

  •  Humility is not fear.
  • Contentment is not laziness.
  • Thinking small is not contentment and not spiritual.

 …it is impossible to please God without faith. Heb 11:6 NLT

Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.” Matt 19:26

 4)     Pray …. Pray …. Pray …. And keep praying….

 Pray for power.

bless me…

  By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. Eph 3:20 NLT

And even when you do ask, you don’t get it because your whole motive is wrong–you want only what will give you pleasure.  James 4:3NLT

 Pray for God to be close.

 Please be with me in all that I do

 For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need. Phil 4:13

 Pray for God’s protection.

 keep me from all trouble and pain

 Keep alert and pray. Otherwise temptation will overpower you. For though the spirit is willing enough, the body is weak!”   Matt 26:41

 

