Into Your Hands

Series:  Last Words of Jesus #3

 45 The light from the sun was gone. And suddenly, the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn down the middle. 46 Then Jesus shouted, “Father, I entrust my spirit into your hands!” And with those words he breathed his last. Luke 23:45-46

 As a Christian you can be confident in life because you have peace with death.

 Jesus could live out his life fully because he could depend on God’s promises and his presence.

 Jesus did not allow the pain of the world to block his vision of eternity.

 Jesus taught us the importance of staying connected with the Father.  (Led by the Spirit)

 …the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!

 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there. 25 Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives. Gal 5:22-25

 Being in the Father’s hands allows contentment.

 Don’t love money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said, “I will never fail you.   I will never abandon you.” Heb 13:5

 We can have confidence in God’s Word…

 Jesus prayed Scripture from the cross….

 I entrust my spirit into your hand.  Rescue me, LORD, for you are a faithful God.  Psalm 31:5

 When it seems like the world is in control of your life we can remember that God is protecting us.

 Sometimes it may feel like you have lost the battle with death but Jesus has already won the war.

You have not handed me over to my enemies but have set me in a safe place.  Psalm 31:8  (Future Place)

 A life of faith is not an easy life.

 18 “If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first. 19 The world would love you as one of its own if you belonged to it, but you are no longer part of the world. I chose you to come out of the world, so it hates you. 20 Do you remember what I told you? ‘A slave is not greater than the master.’ Since they persecuted me, naturally they will persecute you. And if they had listened to me, they would listen to you.  John 15:18-20

 Into God’s Hands

 1)     Is a life of which you can look back and feel good.

 2)      Is a life of joy looking forward to eternity.

 We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.   Because of the joyawaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.  Heb 12:2

 3)     Is a life you can feel good about living for the Kingdom now. (Kingdom is the key to paradise)

 And now, dear children, remain in fellowship with Christ so that when he returns, you will be full of courage and not shrink back from him in shame. 1 John 2:28

