When you think of God, what is your first emotional reaction?

 God is God…. God is Shepherd ….

                        I was created for God’s pleasure.

 Fear of the LORD is the foundation of true wisdom.  All who obey his commandments will grow in wisdom.  Praise him forever!  Psalm 111:10

  1The LORD is my shepherd;  I have all that I need. 5…My cup overflows with blessings. 6 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the LORD forever. Psalm 23

Key to Spiritually Healthy God Fear is knowing I exist for God’s love and pleasure.

 You are worthy, O Lord our God, to receive glory and honor and power.   For you created all things,  and they exist because you created what you pleased.”  Rev 4:11

Our Fear Should be in Disappointing the One Who Loves Us Most

 

How Do I Please God?

 1)     Know God and His Word. (Experiencially)

 Jesus replied, “Your mistake is that you don’t know the Scriptures, and you don’t know the power of God.  Matt 22:29

 2)     Put love for God over everything.

 I want you to show love, not offer sacrifices.  I want you to know me more than I want burnt offerings. Hos 6:6

 Noah was a righteous man, the only blameless person living on earth at the time, and he walked in close fellowship with God. Gen 6:9

 “‘You must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”  Matt 22:37-40

 3)     Decide and commit above all else to obey God

 That’s why those who are still under the control of their sinful nature can never please God.  Rom 8:8

So you see, we are shown to be right with God by what we do, not by faith alone.  James 2:24

It was by faith that Noah built a large boat to save his family from the flood. He obeyed God, who warned him about things that had never happened before. Heb 11:7

4)     Trust Him.

 Rather, the LORD’s delight is in those who honor him, those who put their hope in his unfailing love. Ps 147:11 NLT

 5)     Do Kingdom work. Be God’s love with skin.  (Be Holy)

 1 And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. 2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.  Rom 12:1-2

