God Helps Those Who Help Themselves

Series:  Actually, That’s Not in the Bible #2

 

Matthew 5:3-10

3 “God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him,
      for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
 4 God blesses those who mourn,
      for they will be comforted.
 5 God blesses those who are humble,
      for they will inherit the whole earth.
 6 God blesses those who hunger and thirst for justice,
      for they will be satisfied.
 7 God blesses those who are merciful,
      for they will be shown mercy.
 8 God blesses those whose hearts are pure,
      for they will see God.
 9 God blesses those who work for peace,
      for they will be called the children of God.
 10 God blesses those who are persecuted for doing right,
      for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.

 God wants us to be strong but understand we are weak.

 Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. James 1:2-4

 Dangers in self-confidence over God-confidence

  1. Pride
  2. Forget to depend on God
  3. Discouragement and spiritual confusion

 God is against laziness…..

 6 Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones.  Learn from their ways and become wise!   7 Though they have no prince or governor or ruler to make them work.  Prov 6:6-7

 

God Confidence (Humility)

 1)    Don’t be too confident in my strengths.

 That experience is worth boasting about, but I’m not going to do it. I will boast only about my weaknesses.  2 Cor 12:5 

 2)    Recognize my weaknesses. Give God credit.

 If I wanted to boast, I would be no fool in doing so, because I would be telling the truth. But I won’t do it, because I don’t want anyone to give me credit beyond what they can see in my life or hear in my message, 7 even though I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud. 2 Cor 12:6-7

 3)    Be thankful for my weaknesses.

 Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away.  2 Cor 12:8

 4)    Accept God’s power through my weakness.

 Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 2 Cor 12:9

 5)    Be content by serving God.

 That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Cor 12:10

 Benefits of God-Help over Self Help

 1)    God is always there to help.

 For when I am weak, then I am strong….vs. 10b

 2)    It keeps me humble.

 The LORD despises pride; be assured that the proud will be punished.  6 Unfailing love and faithfulness cover sin; evil is avoided by fear of the LORD.  Prov 16:5-6

 3)    I will value others.

 In fact, some of the parts that seem weakest and least important are really the most necessary. 1 Cor12:22NLT

 4)    I can comfort others with God’s comfort.

 He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When others are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. 2 Cor 1:4 NLT

 

