This is teaching by me at Life Connection Church from Sunday July 17, 2011.

Below is the video and the notes are below that.

The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure. 1 Cor 10:13

 God takes away your excuse to sin and removes the guilt of sin.

 And remember, when you are being tempted, do not say, “God is tempting me.” God is never tempted to do wrong, and he never tempts anyone else. James 1:13

 We think you ought to know, dear brothers and sisters, about the trouble we went through in the province of Asia. We were crushed and overwhelmed beyond our ability to endure, and we thought we would never live through it.  2 Cor 1:8

 1)     At times a Christian’s life will be more than you can handle.

2)     God does not put pain on us.  He does allow us to go pain.

  • Self imposed bring consequences
  • We live in an imperfect evil world and trials strengthen our faith.
  • God will discipline as a loving Father.

 As you endure this divine discipline, remember that God is treating you as his own children. Who ever heard of a child who is never disciplined by its father? 8 If God doesn’t discipline you as he does all of his children, it means that you are illegitimate and are not really his children at all.  Heb 12:7-8

 3)     Bad theology causes emotional pain and feeling we don’t  measure up in our faith   

  • Misjudge others
  • Get down on ourselves

 9 In fact, we expected to die. But as a result, we stopped relying on ourselves and learned to rely only on God, who raises the dead. 10 And he did rescue us from mortal danger, and he will rescue us again. We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us. 11 And you are helping us by praying for us. Then many people will give thanks because God has graciously answered so many prayers for our safety.  2 Cor 1:9-11

 4)     Unbearable pain teaches reliance on God and how much we need each other and the prayers of others.

 Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ.  Gal 6:2

 5)     God will actually use your weakness to make you stronger in your faith and your ministry.

 7 even though I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud.

 8 Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. 9 Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 10 That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.  2 Cor 12:7-10

