Several years ago I kind of got bored with teaching “topical” sermon series year ’round.  You know, like … How to be married…How to be a parent.. how to handle your money…..   Those are all important topics but when you rotate topics all year long I kind of felt like I was teaching the same thing over and over.  I mean most parenting series sound like other parenting series.. As the Bible teaches us” There is nothing new under the sun.”  On top of that, I really felt God was convicting me to teach through the Bible.  You see when you teach through the Bible you teach on all topics.  The Bible tells us about Itself, 
 
All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.  2 Tim 3:16-17
 
I love teaching the Bible.  I find that as people listen to, engage with, and apply the Bible to there lives they change for the better in all areas of their lives.  So, I mix it up.  I teach through a book of the Bible and then break for a topical series or two and then go back.  I choose topics based on what I hear or see as needs of the church and when teaching through the Bible I just go straight through verse by verse and chapter by chapter.  It has been a very rewarding experience for me and from the feedback I get from others it has been the same. 
 
On May 4, 2008, I opened with this from the Book of Luke:  
 
Many people have set out to write accounts about the events that have been fulfilled among us.  They used the eyewitness reports circulating among us from the early disciples.Having carefully investigated everything from the beginning, I also have decided to write a careful account for you, most honorable Theophilus, so you can be certain of the truth of everything you were taught. Luke 1:1-4
 
Luke was a gentile Christian who was writing this Gospel to another gentile who had become a Christian.  I called this series “Luke: So You Will Know” based on these opening lines.  I have been teaching Luke, and breaking for topical studies, for three years now.  This Sunday will be the last of the series. 
 
The title of the first sermon in this series was: “A Careful Account”. The Audio can be found here. (  http://www.lifeconnectionchurch.org/Sermons/08-05-04%20luke%201.1-4%20intro.mp3 )  This Saturday I will be teaching from Luke 24:28-53.  The last sermon of this series I am calling, “Jesus says, It’s Really Me.”   For three years we have looked at this carefully researched biography of Jesus Christ as written by the gentile/physician/historian Luke.  I have really enjoyed the journey. 
 
This Saturday night we will finish Luke with an incredible story of how Jesus, after his resurrection, convinced His disciples that he was for real and we will be sharing communion together.
 
It will be a great night to learn and be with each other.  Come and bring a friend. 
 
God bless and remember to PUSH.  Pray Until Something Happens as we look and pray for the next place God wants LCC to call home.
 
As always I look forward to seeing you.  I pray for you often.  
 Your brotha from anotha motha

 

Royal
