How are you doing today?  That’s my typical greeting.  You know how it is, people ask you back, “How you doing?” and we say, “Fine.”  And they say “fine”.  We don’t even think about it do we?  When someone asks you how you are doing, most of us don’t bring up a list of the good and bad.  It’s just like saying, “Hi.”  No thought involved.   Sometimes, it goes with the job, I throw in another question in the conversation.  How are you doing spiritually? 

Now this question typically gets a little different response.  I may get the same answer verbally, “Fine” or “Good”, but the body language usually shifts a little.  For some people, allot.  

So….Here it is…..”HOW YOU DOING TODAY, SPIRITUALLY?”   I can’t see your body language but I can imagine at least a few of you are not sure.  Well, you can be.  There is even a list you can carry around with you to help you grade yourself and remember.   Don’t worry….It’s a very short list.  A short and simple list…..Not easy, but simple.  That’s good for me cause I am not a good list person.  My wife is.  Ask her anytime and Lisa will have a list on her.  And she is good.  The best I can tell, she usually finishes it or has a really good reason she didn’t.  

When Jesus  was asked, “How do I know I am doing well spiritually?”  He answered:   37 …‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.” 40 The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”  Matt 22:37-40  

Thank you Jesus for giving us such a simple and complete list.  OK…Do you need to write it down?

  1. Love God
  2. Love people.

How are you doing spiritually?  Check your list all day long and it will get easier and easier to be doing well spiritually.  The more you focus on loving God and loving people the more you will become like Jesus.  Don’t compare youself spiritually with anyone else.  Shoot for the top.  God wants you and me to be more like Jesus.  Jesus came to earth to be the first of many brothers and sisters who are children of God.   

May you be blessed more than you can imagine.  Take a friend to church Sunday.

