Notes for Talk at Life Support TVWed  – Jan 27 – 9pm CST

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/life-support-tv     Join us for a study and chat…..

How long do you pray about something?  Most people quit praying before they get any kind of answer and feel very frustrated or ignored by God in their faith.

God not only says, “Keep praying”, but their is a lot to be learn and faith to e grown in the process.

Pray Until Something Happens

Christ-Follower:  One who serves, imitates, chases after, and is changed by Christ.  One who worships Christ with his/her whole life.

Luke 18: 1-One day Jesus told his disciples a story to illustrate their need for constant prayer and to show them that they must never give up.

 2 “There was a judge in a certain city,” he said, “who neither feared God nor cared about people. 3 A widow of that city came to him repeatedly, saying, ‘Give me justice in this dispute with my enemy.’ 4 The judge ignored her for a while, but finally he said to himself, ‘I don’t fear God or care about people, 5 but this woman is driving me crazy. I’m going to see that she gets justice, because she is wearing me out with her constant requests!’”

 6 Then the Lord said, “Learn a lesson from this unjust judge. 7 Even he rendered a just decision in the end. So don’t you think God will surely give justice to his chosen people who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8 I tell you, he will grant justice to them quickly! But when the Son of Man returns, how many will he find on the earth who have faith?”

 

Pray Until Something Happens      (PUSH)

 

Pray at all times and on every occasion in the power of the Holy Spirit. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all Christians everywhere.  Eph 6:18 NLT

 

The Benefits of PUSH-ing

1)   Keeps me focused on God and not me.

when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father secretly. Then your Father, who knows all secrets, will reward you.   Matt 6:6 NLT

 But when you pray, go into your [most] private room, and, closing the door, pray to your Father, Who is in secret; and your Father, Who sees in secret, will reward you in the open. (Message)

 For the sinful nature is always hostile to God. It never did obey God’s laws, and it never will. Rom 8:7 NLT

2)  Gives me time to think it through.

And the Holy Spirit helps us in our distress. For we don’t even know what we should pray for, nor how we should pray. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. Rom 8:26 NLT

3)  My faith is tested and strengthened.

Fire tests the purity of silver and gold, but the LORD tests the heart.  Prov 17:3 NLT

When your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.  James 1:3-4 NLT

4)    I am ready for the answer.

Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope Eph 3:20 NLT

 For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.  Phil 4:13 NLT

How Long Do I PUSH?

Until God changes me or the situation.

What Do I DO While I PUSH?

 1)   Be patient.

Be still in the presence of the LORD, and wait patiently for him to act. Ps 37:7 NLT

 “Be still, and know that I am God” Ps 46:10 NIV

 2)   Expect an answer.

 Think of the wonderful works he has done, the miracles and the judgments he handed down, Ps 105:5 NLT

 Give your burdens to the LORD, and he will take care of you.

He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.  Ps 55:22 NLT

