Elmer Fudd the Wabbit Hunter

There is a new TV commercial that stars an old character, Elmer Fudd.  Elmer Fudd has a speech impediment and he is one of the most famous or well known of the Looney Tune characters.  We love to laugh at Elmer because of his weaknesses.  He was made famous for being an arch enemy of Bugs Bunny.  When Fudd enters the scene he turns to the camera and says, “I am a hunter.”  and then we all laugh as he says, “I hunt wabbits.”  We laugh at the way he pronounces his “R”s and we laugh because we know, that no matter how hard he tries, he is never going to catch that “scwewy wabbit.”  But you got to admire the guy.  He never gives up.  In episode after episode he is back and soundly being defeated by that “waskly wabbit”.   Yet he follows the advice Sir Winston Church made in speeches during WWII who said we will fight them anywhere and “And we shall never surrender.”    And in another speech, “We will never, never, never, never give up.”

How does one do that?  I mean, I know Elmer Fudd is not real.  Or is he?  But how does one go forward and never surrender, never give up?  Elmer Fudd could do it, no matter how many times he failed, because he knew deep down inside that above everything else he was a hunter.  And his purpose in life was to hunt “wabbits“.  

One has to know who he or she is.  One has to know his or her convictions.  One has to know that she is a part of something bigger than herself.  One has to know who he is, and when one knows who he is, then one can never be satisfied if he is not doing what he is purposed to do.

At twenty-seven years old I realized and accepted the conviction that “I am a Christian.”  Until that happened, even though I had in word and belief become a Christian at an early age, my faith was weak and ineffective.  I was all over the place spiritually.  My adult life up to that time had no real purpose and the dreams and pleasures I sought in life were unfulfilling and easy to give up. I was not doing what I and all human beings where created to do.  I was not worshiping God. 

When we get to heaven, we will be perfected.  In our perfected state we will spend eternity worshiping God.  That is what we will want to do because that is where real life, joy, and contentment comes from.  Jesus said he came to give us life.  He came to give us a rich and satisfying life. (John 10:10)  And He does that through the sacrifice of his own life, so we can be forgiven for our sins, and connect to the giver of life, our Father in heaven.  And once we are connected, we can truly worship because we become, through the Holy Spirit, spiritual beings. 

 And then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea. They sang:  “Blessing and honor and glory and power belong to the one sitting on the throne and to the Lamb forever and ever.” Rev 5:13

Once we commit to worship God here, before we get to heaven, then we can experience heaven on earth.  Jesus said he came to earth to bring us the Kingdom of heaven.  And we experience that Kingdom through the worship of God with our lives.

Once I realized or accepted that the only way to be truly fulfilled was to be who I was meant to be and started moving towards the purpose that comes with who I am, my spiritual life started changing rapidly.  As I started worshiping God with my life, my mind and my spirit started transforming into who and what God purposed me to be.

It all started with the heartfelt commitment to the fact that I am a Christian, or a follower of Christ.

Where did that take me?  Now I can truly say, “I am a Shepherd.”  The deep desire that God put in my life is “to go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”  Matt 28:19-20

As I followed God’s commissioning of my life to grow his church, the commission He gives all of us when we answer the call to follow Christ, He put into my heart the desire to be a shepherd in His church.  He put into me the conviction to teach disciples to obey all of His commands and develop a community of faith into a fruit bearing group of disciples.  The joy of my life is to see Christians develop into worshipers of God who produce spiritual fruit in our lives that consist of  love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Gal 5:22-23  That’s what keeps me going.  God’s desire is for us all to experience the full life that produces that incredible fruit.

Do you want to get there?  All of us are not called to become shepherds or pastors, but we are all called to grow and play our role.

It starts with this conviction, this commitment.    “I am a Christian.”  And as a Christian, “I hunt the things that are of God for God.”  And I will never, never, never, never give up.

How about you?  Step out in faith…Worship who you have been created to worship…And life change will happen…..

If you are part of the LCC family or if you are looking for a church to make your home.  I hope I see you Sunday.  If you are part of another community of faith, don’t miss your pep-rally this Sunday.

Cause this life can be “twechewis”.

Invite someone to church…….

 Your bwotha from anotha motha

Woyal

