weekly note to Life Connection Church in Euless, TX

Dear Friends and Family of LCC,

I hope you are enjoying all of the rain.  Here is one thing on which Lisa does not agree with me, I like cloudy days.  Is that weird?  I like cloudy days with a breeze…..  Is that a guy thing or a weird Royal thing?  Not sure…How do you feel about it?  I think I can think better when it is cloudy.  Or maybe it is just that when it is sunny my thinking looks more cloudy.

If you slept in cause of the rain last Sunday you missed an awesome day.  Just like the rain changed some of your plans last week, God changed mine.  All week long I was getting ready to finish up the One Community series on Sunday.  Message wise it was an easy week.  I don’t know why, maybe it was all the clouds, but the message came together so easy.  Usually on Thursday I do most of my writing and finish up on Friday.  By Wednesday I had my outline done and by Thursday afternoon I was sending my notes off to have the power point done.  The talk had come together so easy I was looking forward to studying it up and relaxing a little getting ready for Sunday. 

Saturday afternoon, Lisa and I were sitting in my home office talking and I looked down at our “bill paying drawer”.  We all have one right?…Its the drawer you cram all your bills in after you pay them.  As I looked into the open drawer I noticed the label of a file folder sticking out.  There are no other files in there so it stood out.  I pulled it out and it was an old sermon.  Now this is weird, cause like I said, this is the bills paid drawer.  All of my hardcopy sermons are filed at the church office.  I pulled it out and it was the sermon I taught the Sunday after 9/11/2001.  I have not looked at that message since then.

There it was.  The title, “God Heals the Broken Heart“.  I remember that week in 2001 hearing of other pastors scrambling to find the right words to say after such a terrible event.  We had just started LCC and I was doing a series on Jesus’ sermon on the Mount and I did not need to look for another teaching.  God had already given it to me.  So it was already a special teaching for me.  Now, here it was the week of the anniversary of 9/11,and it seemed as if God had given it back.  So I started praying about whether to teach the one I had already prepared for the week or the old one from 2001.

I showed up on Sunday with two sets of notes and decided that I would pray about it until I walked up on the platform and decide then.  Guess what?  No brainer.  I felt like God had given me that teaching to reteach.  There are a lot of hurting people right now.  And God heals the brokenhearted.

“God blesses those who realize their need for him, for the Kingdom of Heaven is given to them.  4 God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.   Matt 5:3-4 NLT

 The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those who are crushed in spirit.  Ps 34:18 NLT

 As I walked around greeting people before the service I noticed there were several people there that had not been to church in awhile.  I was thinking, God you are incredible.  Is this message for him, or her, or maybe for me.  I often tell people who respond to what I teach with “that was just for me” that usually it is as much for me as it is for you.

 It was for her and him.  From the feedback I received, people needed to be reminded, “God Heals the Broken Hearted”.  I needed it too.  I needed to be reminded that God wants to comfort me and if I just come to Him in all sincerity and minus my pride, God heals.  He is always close to the broken hearted.  He is the only One on which you can always depend.

 I know many people that have had some tough times this year.  People hurt people.  Finances are tight or nonexistent.  You can only truly count on God.  If you go to God, He will never turn away.  It is His pleasure to comfort you.

 How about you?  God is waiting…..Get comforted….Then take the comfort you receive and go love on somebody else.  That’s how it works…..

 This Sunday I will be finishing up ONE Community.  It is going to be an awesome teaching.  If you are part of the LCC family or are looking for a church home I hope you see you on Sunday at 10:15….

 PS…….God Heals a Broken Heart is online……. http://www.lifeconnectionchurch.org/Pages/downloads.cfm

 Your Brotha from anotha motha

Royal

