Mother Teresa on Pride and Humility

Excerpts from Mother Teresa – In My Own Words

I have really been studying the life of Teresa the last few weeks and the more I read the more I am impressed by her example of a life of humility and convicted by the pride in my life.  The Word of God tells us that pride will make us an enemy of God and that the humble will inherit the whole earth.   I think it is so natural to be prideful that we don’t often recognize our pride.

In the life of Mother Teresa I see a lifetime of humility that is magnified in her poverty and service that never seemed to be rewarded during her life on earth. 

“If we were humble, nothing would change us–neither praise nor discouragement.  If someone were to criticize us, we would not feel discouraged.  If someone were to praise us, we also would not be proud.”

“It is said that humility is truth.  The path that will make us more like Jesus is the path of humility.”

Recognizing pride takes a day to day, even a minute by minute and maybe even a second by second discipline of practicing the presence of God, His grace, and His love.  It means recognizing I am nothing without Jesus.  It is a constant attitude of gratitude that He saved me from myself and allowed me to be a part of His plan of redemption for a fallen world.

Lord Jesus, forgive me for my pride.  Thank you for my weakness.  Bless me with your wisdom to see the world through your eyes and see myself as your humble servant. 

Leave a Reply

